I was reviewing refererers to jangro.com in my web server logs and of course an Amazon.com url would catch my eye:
http://www.amazon.com/ exec/obidos/ASIN/0789725258/ XXXXXXXXXXXXX-20/103-5085788-0070201
I checked it out and this link goes to Shawn Collin’s book, Successful Affiliate Marketing for Merchants.
My first reaction was, cool, somehow a link to my blog ended up in the reviews or comments, or even one of Shawn’s blog posts that end up there. But there’s no link there.
So I took a closer look and realized that there’s an affiliate ID in that link. As Amazon’s IDs are text and based on your username, it’s pretty clear to me who this is.
I’ve X’ed out the ID just in case I’ve overlooked a more benign explanation. But it smells bad to me. Is this person referer spamming?
It’s trivial to spoof a referer url so that a link ends up in someone’s web stats. It’s a common black-hat technique to do this, (a) to get direct traffic from the curious person who owns the web site, and (b) to get inbound links from web stats that are not secured and get picked up by search engines.
There’s a lot here to be a coincidence:
1. The referer is an affiliate link.
2. The link goes to an affiliate marketing book.
3. This url was deposited into the logs of a website owned by someone who is an affiliate marketer and a good target for this book.
4. The affiliate in question here is a well known figure in the affiliate marketing industry.
Is there another reasonable explanation for how that referer ended up in my logs?
Please, someone help restore my faith in this individual.
Added: It became apparent to me that I may appear to be pointing fingers at Shawn here. I do not believe that it is him. The affiliate ID incriminates someone who is merely promoting his book.
